At a meeting of the UN General Assembly held on 31 May 2017, Sri Lanka was elected by acclamation to serve as one of the Vice-Presidents of the General Assembly for its 72nd Session (September 2017 to August 2018) representing the Asia and Pacific Group. The General Assembly also endorsed the nomination of H.E. Mr. Miroslav Lajčák, Minister of Foreign and European Affairs of Slovakia, as the President of the General Assembly for the 72nd Session.

Sri Lanka last served as the Vice President of the General Assembly in 2007 at the 62nd Session. The Permanent Representative of Sri Lanka to the UN, Ambassador Rohan Perera will serve as the Vice-President to the General Assembly representing Sri Lanka, during the 72nd Session.