Consultations On Reconciliation Mechanisms

The Consultation Task Force on Reconciliation Mechanisms is calling for submissions from diaspora organisations on the design of structures, processes and measures for truth, accountability, reparations and non-recurrence, i.e. an Office on Missing Persons, an Office on Reparations; a Judicial Mechanism with a Special Counsel; a Truth, Justice, Reconciliation and Non-Recurrence Commission; and any other mechanisms, processes or measures for advancing reconciliation in Sri Lanka.

Submissions can be made to the Task Force by diaspora organisations/ individuals has been extended until August 10, 2016. 

Please see announcement in English, Sinhala and Tamil 

Background Information

As per the commitments given to the people of Sri Lanka, to strengthen good governance; promote, protect and uphold human rights; foster reconciliation; and strengthen the rule of law and democracy; in the follow-up to the Presidential Election of January 8, 2015, the Government, following the Presidential Election and the Parliamentary Election of August 2015, proposed the setting up of several mechanisms, namely,

-an Office on Missing Persons
-a Truth, Justice, Reconciliation and Non-Recurrence Commission
-a Judicial Mechanism with a Special Counsel, and
-an Office of Reparations

It was also stated that these mechanisms will be evolved through a process of wide consultations involving all stakeholders, including victims.

Please refer:

Subsequently, a Secretariat for Coordinating Reconciliation Mechanisms (SCRM) was appointed with the approval of the Cabinet of Ministers for the coordination of the public consultation process and the design and establishment of relevant mechanisms thereafter. The Secretariat, comes under the Prime Minister’s Office, and was approved by the Cabinet of Ministers on December 18, 2015. The Secretariat is headed by Secretary-General Mano Tittawella.

Consultation Task Force (CTF) on Reconciliation Mechanisms

A Consultation Task force comprising 11 civil society members was appointed thereafter, to seek the views of the public on the proposed reconciliation mechanism and any other views pertaining to reconciliation mechanisms.

Composition: CTF is drawn entirely from civil society and is an independent body. On January 26, 2016 the Prime Minister appointed the following:

Chair: ManouriMuttetuwegama; Secretary: PaikiasothySaravanamuttu;
Members: Dr. FarzanaHaniffa, Prof. SitralegaMaunaguru, Mirak Raheem, GaminiViyangoda, ShanthaAbimanasingham P.C., Prof. GameelaSamarasinghe, Visaka Dharmadasa, K.W. Janaranjana, Prof. DayaSomasundaram.

Mandate: To consult members of the public on the processes and mechanisms for reconciliation in Sri Lanka and seek suggestions for the design of

i)             Office on Missing Persons
ii)            Truth, Justice, Reconciliation and Non-Recurrence Commission
iii)           Judicial Mechanism
iv)           Office of Reparations
v)            Any other mechanisms

Methodology: To gather public views on the processes and mechanisms for reconciliation

Zonal Task Forces: The CTF finalized appointment of members of the Zonal Task Forces (ZTF) at the end of May 2016.

6 to 8 ZTF members were selected from 15 geographical zones on basis of

– Gender balance
– Ethnic and religious representation
– Members’ leadership roles in society
– Experience in working on issues related to human rights, reconciliation and peace

The ZTFs will operate in the following 15 zones:

  1. Jaffna District
  2. Kilinochchi District
  3. Mullaitivu District
  4. Mannar District
  5. Vavuniya District
  6. Trincomalee District
  7. Batticaloa District
  8. Ampara District
  9. North Central Province
  10. North Western Province
  11. Central Province
  12. Western Province
  13. Uva Province
  14. Sabaragumuwa Province
  15. Southern Province

Consultation Process

ZTF are responsible for conducting consultations on the reconciliation mechanisms proposed by GOSL. They would consist of public meetings and focus group discussions (FGDs) in each of the above zones. ZTFs are expected to commence public sittings in July 2016 and would submit a zonal level report to the CTF after consultations conclude in August 2016.

The Report

The Report of the CTF will be handed over to the Government at the conclusion of the consultation process. It is expected that the Report, upon conclusion of consultations in August 2016, will be handed over in September 2016.

For more information: refer