55th International Coconut Community Session & Ministerial Meeting


Agriculture Secretary William Dar (5th from left), Senator Cynthia Villar (5th from right), and foreign ministers pose during the opening ceremony of the 55th International Coconut Community Session and Ministerial Meeting held at the Philippine International Convention Center in Pasay City on Monday (August 26, 2019). The event commemorates the golden anniversary of the Coconut Community which evolved as Asian Coconut Community to Asian and Pacific Coconut Community and recently to International Coconut Community.

The ICC (Formerly the Asian and Pacific Coconut Community (APCC) was established in 1969 to promote, coordinate and harmonize all activities of the coconut industry in the Asia Pacific region in the end view of achieving the maximum economic development  of the coconut industry of coconut growing countries. The Philippines with India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Sri Lanka and Thailand are among the founding signatories for the establishment of the APCC. Over the years, other countries joined the Community and in 2019 the APCC will be given a new status and name of the International Coconut Community (ICC) which shall also be set for launching during the meeting. The Occasion will also coincide with the iconic 50 years of the Coconut Community. Total membership has already grew to 19 countries with two (2) Associate Country Members – Jamaica and Kenya. It may be possible that during the Meeting, several Asian and Pacific  countries will join as new Members.